Leeuwarden, Netherlands


Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Holidays in Friesland?

Dear Intervac friends,

We are a family of 5, but the two oldest are now studying and do not go with us anymore. So there are 3 of us, Alastair (52), Akke (49), and Finn (17), and sometimes our older children Jesse (20) and Anouska (20). In the Netherlands our lovely dog will join is too. He is very quiet and easy going.

We live in Leeuwarden, a small town with canals, bridges, and bicycles. It is the capital of Friesland. Our semi-detached house is comfortable and recently renovated. We have four bedrooms with in total 7 beds (three double beds and one single bed). There is one bathroom. In total the living space is about 120 m2, divided over three floors. The house is located in a green and quiet estate bordering the Leeuwarder woods, with many deer, birds, foxes, frogs, ducks, herrons, hedgehogs, and other wildlife. In our garden we have frogs, hedgehogs, mice, spiders, bees, and butterflies. It is only 10 minutes cycling to the city centre of Leeuwarden. Various recreational cycling routes pass our house as well. Amsterdam is only one hour and 15 minutes by car, Groningen is one hour driving, and the Wadden islands are very close.

We have a cat as well. She needs to be looked after, but if you go away for a day, there are several neighbours who could feed the cat too.

We love exploring new places, including in the Netherlands. We had very nice house exchanges in Iceland (1), France (3), Belgium (2), Northern Germany (2), Switzerland (1), Norway (1), Denmark (1), Scotland (1), Spain (1) and also in North Babant and South Holland in the Netherlands (2)!

For tips see:

Friesland tourism:
Lonely Planet: the Netherlands is in the top 10 destinations to visit in 2020.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 3 Children
  • 18 Exchanges made


  • Lecturer English
  • Lecturer Tourism Geography

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 3
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 5
  • Living Area: 40 m2
  • Total Area: 120 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange
  • Youth exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 5


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Calgary, AB, Canada
  • Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • Canada
  • France
  • Belgium
  • Germany
  • United Kingdom
  • Ireland
  • Finland
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Spain
  • United States

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • Dutch


  • Lecturer English
  • Lecturer Tourism Geography


  • Boy - Age: 21
  • Boy - Age: 18
  • Girl - Age: 21


  • Cat
  • Dog