Back
IE9040

Galway, Ireland

A traditional fishing boat

A traditional fishing boat

Eyre Square, Galway city

Eyre Square, Galway city

A traditional fishing boat Eyre Square, Galway city
Silver

Member since

2010


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Attractive modern home, Galway. We have an exchange partner for summer 2014, we are seeking an exchange for summer 2015

 
Hello, 
Greetings from Galway on the west coast of Ireland.   We are a family of four living in a modern and bright detatched home of  220 sq metres approx.  We have a large garden and live in a lovely quiet neighbourhood on the suburbs of the city.  Our children  are 10 and 12 and are very respectful of our house and furniture.  They will be very respectful of your house also.   We have lots of toys for indoors and outdoors and there are many lovely playgrounds within 6km of our home.
Our children are allergic to cats and we cannot exchange with families who have cats.
Galway is easily accessed and is the 4th largest city in Ireland.  We are 1.5 hours from Shannon airport, 2.5 hours from Dublin airport.  The railway station is in the city centre and many buses serve the city and the rest of Ireland.
Galway is a beautiful medieval tourist city and there is much to do here......theatre, traditional Irish music, festivals in summertime, museum, horseriding, superb golfing, open top bus tours, walking tours of the city, many cafes and restaurants, indoor leisure facilities, cinema, fishing, .....and much more.
We can exchange our car and you could visit the beautiful countryside.   Galway is an ideal base for exploring Connemara, the Aran Islands, The Burren- a unique landscape formed by glaciation, The twelve Bens mountain range , Clifden, Westport, The Ailwee caves, Cong. 
You could spend hours hiking in the local mountains, walking on  the unspoiled beaches, swimming in the beautiful sea, shopping in the local craft shops and supermarkets.  Our weather is moderate and you will need to bring light rain clothes.
We have done 3 successful home exchanges now.  We recently returned from the Basque region in Spain (July 2013)  where we exchanged with a couple and their two daughters.  We loved the region and had a lovely time. 
We exchanged with a couple from London in July/ August 2012 and we had a great time.  It was very successful and we did much sightseeing. 
We also  exchanged with a family from St. Nazaire, France in 2010 and the experience was very successful.
We welcome all offers from Europe especially from coastal areas.  We are especially interested in visiting France, Spain and coastal regions of Italy.  If you contact us, we will reply promptly. 
Why not contact us,
Mary and Feilimi
 
 
 
 

Read more

Our Family

  • 1 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 3 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • teacher and paramedic

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 0
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 4
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Park / playground
  • Bicycles: 4

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Spain
  • France
  • Portugal

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood

  • shopping westside shopping centre (3.9 km)
  • golfing barna golf club (4.0 km)
  • river corrib river walk (5.5 km)
  • sea salthill beach and promenade (6.1 km)
  • forest barna woods (5.2 km)

We live in a country area yet only a short cycle or drive from the city - the best of both worlds.

Occupation

  • teacher and paramedic

Children

  • Boy - Age: 17
  • Girl - Age: 19

Pets

  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home