Fort Smith, France

Dinig room

Dinig room

Living Room

Living Room



Dinig room Living Room office

Member since


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

House in, France

We have been restoring this 14th C structure for 6 years. The exterior has just been completed in accordance with the Minister d'Architecture in Agen. The house was a shell when we bought it, and we are restoring it ourselves. The kitchen is well equiped and easy to work in. There are 3 bedrooms, 3  common areas and 3 full bath/shower rooms. It is an excellent choice for large groups or small. We have had 3 exchanges with Intervac and 2 exchanges with another home exchange group
We do not feel that it is a good fit for very young children in as much as we are still finishing the interior and the steps to the duxieme etage are still difficult for tin feet. We find it very livable now. We continue to finish up remaining work.
We find the region extraordinarily beautiful. It is little changed since the crusades when the Prunes d'Agen were first introduced. We are close enough to the Perigord Noir for you to even visit Paleolithic material like Lascaux II, and Les Eyzies, but you won't find the challenging heavy tourism of that area. The Bergerac wine region is a half hour away. Our friends say it is what they always imagined French winerys should be. We agree.The Haute Agenais is  most famous for the remarkable numbers "Bastide" towns. Castles and abbeys abound in the area and there are even Roman ruins and Celtic Archeology.
The food in the area is superb and the weekly markets around us are great fun. The best butcher in the village tells you which farms his wonderful meat is from. Lot et Garonne is the market garden for all of France; you will love to eat here, cooking at home or in dining out in restaurants.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made


  • Artists, Retired University Prof adult childre
  • Artists, Retired University Prof adult childre

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 3
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 10

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Not allowed

Exchange Types

  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange
  • Youth exchange
  • Renting possible


  • Free internet access
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer


  • Park / playground
  • Bicycles: 1


  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Spain
  • Ireland
  • Portugal

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Italiano
  • Français

Our Neighbourhood


  • Artists, Retired University Prof adult childre
  • Artists, Retired University Prof adult childre


  • We do not have children.


  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home