Back
IS12010

Garðabær, Iceland

Elin and Gudjon in Bilbao 2016.

Elin and Gudjon in Bilbao 2016.

Elin and Gudjon in Bilbao 2016.
Silver

Member since

2011


Unavailable for exchange at the moment
Exchange dates Duration
July 30, 2020 - September 01, 2020 2 weeks

Summer 2020.

House in Garðabær, Iceland. Reykjavik metropolitan area

(We just moved into our new house. More pictures will follow)
We are a family of four.  Elin, Gudjon, Emil (7) and Elisabet (6).  Elin works in a laboratory and Gudjon is an optician.  We are non smokers.
Our home is situated in Garðabær, a suburb to Reykjavik.  The city center can be reached by car in aprox. 10-15 min.  The neighbourhood is quiet and friendly.  The apartment is on the second floor (there are only 2) with a balcony facing west.  We have a beautiful view over the ocean and the Reykjavik area, and Snæfellsjökull (the glacier in "Journey to the center of the earth") can be seen on the other side of the fjord during clear days.  In the summer, the midnight sun colors the sky very beautifully.  The view also includes the presidential residence, Bessastaðir.
There are many walking opportunities in the area.  It is very nice to walk along the sea.  Right behind our house there is a playground and a little football field for children.  Not so far away there is a public swimming pool where it is very nice to relax after a day of traveling.  You will find these up-heated swimming pools all over.
Keflavik airport is only 30 min away by car.  The Reykjavik area is not very big, (the area has about 180.000 inhabitants). 
A lot of places are interesting just outside the city and are easy to drive to.  The Blue Lagoon, Þingvellir, Gullfoss, Geysir are all "must see" places in Iceland.  Highway 1 goes in a circle around the island.
Our car is a Mazda 3, 2017 model.
http://www.inspiredbyiceland.com/

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 4 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Sales Management
  • Analyst

Our Home

  • House Type: Single storey home
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4

References

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange
  • Renting possible

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Hot tub or jacuzzi
  • Central heating
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano
  • Guitar

Outdoor

  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 4

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Scandinavia
  • Europe
  • North America

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Dansk
  • Islenska
  • Norsk
  • Svenska

Our Neighbourhood

Occupation

  • Sales Management
  • Analyst

Children

  • Boy - Age: 9
  • Girl - Age: 7

Pets

  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home

About Our Family

Our family of four contains:
Guðjón, who works in sales management.
Elin Hrund who is an analyst at a pharmaceutical company in Iceland.

Emil Freyr is a 8y old lively boy who loves to play football.
Elisabet Lára who is 6y old and loves to sing. :)

Lifestyle

Travelling
Music
Sports

References

This member has completed 4 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: