Lancaster, Great Britain

front of house

front of house

living room

living room

front of house living room

Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
October 06, 2019 - October 06, 2020 1 weeks

We have had to cancel all our arranged holidays this year due to the Covid 19 circumstances,cbut we would really like to arange one or more UK holidays. Perhaps this could be in July, August or October half term? If anyone would accept us also bringing our grandchildren, that would be great. We are happy for up to 5 people coming here from up to two households. We will consider any length of time from a long weekend to 2 weeks.

Detached house on edge of town. Country views but only 1.5km to train station and town centre.

We have lived in our house for just over four years and love the convenience of living here. There are public footpaths into the countryside from outside the front of the house, but also easy bus and train links into town and wider afield. A car is not essential to live here. Lancaster is an ancient market town with Roman origins. It has an impressive mediaeval castle and attractive small Georgian quarter, as well as all the usual shops and restaurants in the town centre. It is also has two universities, Lancaster university and the University of Cumbria.. We live within walking distance of the town centre and railway station (about 20 minutes walk or 1 mile) and there is a half hourly bus during the day which stops almost outside the house. Lancaster is situated about 5 miles from the coast and from Morecambe, about 45 minutes by car from the South Lake District, the Yorkshire National Park and within easy access of the motorway to access all the tourist areas of Lancashire, Cumbria and the north of England. and North Wales.
Our house was built around 1980, and is comfortable. There is a master bedroom with king size bed and en suite, a guest bedroom with a double bed, and a single bedroom. The fourth bedroom has been turned into a study. We have gas central heating and an very effective gas fire in the living room. We have all the usual appliances. The washing machine and tumble dryer are in a separate utility room. There are two parking spaces outside the house and additional parking on the road outside. The back garden is private and not overlooked. We have television and subscribe to NOW Tv for additional channels.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 3 Exchanges made


  • part-time self employed educational psychologist
  • part-time university lecturer

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 5


In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Garage


  • No smoking

Our Destination Wish List

  • United Kingdom

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Manchester - 57 miles

Our neighbourhood is quiet and we have open countryside views to the rear. We have four neighbouring houses and our neighbours are all friendly. Although Willow Lane is a long road, there is not much traffic at our end as it is a cul de sac, with an open community area known as The Fauna at the end. Walking out from the front door, there are several walks of varying lengths, not least along the Lancaster canal or the river Lune. In summer, it is possible to hire canal boats. The town is well supplied with supermarkets, but we also have a local Spar shop about a 10 minute walk away. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the castle and museums, but there is also a regular bus service up to about 7pm.
There is a direct train service to Manchester Airport from Lancaster Railway Station. Trains also go around the coast to Carlisle and to Glasgow and Edinburgh. The train to London takes 2.5 hours. It is possible to do a day trip there. From the bus station in the centre of town, it is possible to catch a bus to the Lake District or elsewhere, such as Blackpool and Morecambe.


  • part-time self employed educational psychologist
  • part-time university lecturer


  • We do not have children.


  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home


This member has completed 3 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: