Alexandria, USA

Ready to go

Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Lovely home in Alexandria, VA, a Washington, DC suburb

There are endless things to do in this region and many of them are free! Takes 25 minutes to walk to the metro and about 20 to ride into the heart of Washington, DC where you can find-
National Gallery of Art
National Air and Space Museum
White House
National Museum of Natural History
National Museum of American History
US Capitol
Memorials- Lincoln, Thomas Jefferson, Vietnam War, Korean War, Second World War
Holocaust Museum
National Museum of African American History and Culture
Arlington National Cemetery
Library of Congress
A little further out you can also find the National Zoo and George Washington's Mount Vernon.

Annapolis is only 45 minutes away with the Naval Academy and gorgeous waterfront dining and shopping. Baltimore is about 2 hours away with many museums, shopping, etc. The beach and the bay are 2-3 hours to our east and the mountains are a couple of hours to our west. There are parks and hiking in the area as well. Beautiful Old Town Alexandria is just a 15-minute ride from our house.

Our home has four bedrooms and three baths. We live two blocks from restaurants, coffee shops, and a farmers market in a very hip little neighborhood. We have a big kitchen and a lovely 'sunk' living room. The master bedroom has a king-size bed, the kids' bedrooms each have full-size beds and the guest room has a queen. It's a very comfortable house with lots of light and high ceilings.

Our house was built in 1921 and we fully renovated it in 2007. It's art deco and was on a neighborhood home tour at one point. The yard is a bit sad (haven't found my inner gardener yet (-;).

It is not fenced in! You are welcome to bring your pooch. We have a dog as well. But we ask that they not be a puppy or a 'chewer'. We have a lot of really nice woodwork in the house. Also, we can't accept cats as my son is highly allergic to them.

Very excited about joining Intervac!

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 0 Exchanges made


  • Bob works as a technical writer and I work in customer service at our local organic market, Mom’s.

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6
  • Total Area: 1836 sq ft

In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Terrace or deck
  • Bicycles: 2

Our Destination Wish List

  • Costa Rica

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Reagan National Airport is a 15-minute drive from our home. -


  • Bob works as a technical writer and I work in customer service at our local organic market, Mom’s.


  • Girl - Age: 20
  • Boy - Age: 18


  • Ivy, Fern and Olive are our son's pet rats.
  • Lacey is a 60-pound lab mix and is about 8 years older.