Kolari, Finland

Winter January.

Winter January.

Our house in the summer.

Our house in the summer.

Winter January. Our house in the summer.

Member since


Unavailable for exchange at the moment
Exchange dates Duration
October 01, 2015 - October 01, 2019 2 weeks

We are open to any destination. :)

Familyhouse by the Salmonriver in Lapland near Sweden border and skicenter Ylläs

We are heading to Switzerland spring 2018! :)

If you want to experience a sunny skiingholiday here in Finland send us a message! We are open to ALL destinations. Please note, that if there will be car exchange, we need a car with six seats. We provide you one with seven seats too, so big families especially, welcome to us. :)

Intrested in snow or skiing? Or maybe midnight sun and trekking? Dont hesitate to contact, we are willing to see every part of the word, yours too. :)
We are open for all countries and dates, city or countryside, sun or snow. Love to travel and show different places and cultures to our boys. Because of the exploring nature of our journeys, we are not intrested to swap for a just few days. But if you want to explore Finnish Lapland for a week or two, dont hesitate to contact. :)

If you want to enjoy snow, we have it from november to at least end of april. In the march and april we have lots of sun too, november and december are quite dark and polar night (but not colorless) just stars, moon and aurora lights shining, end of the year in january and february we usually have feisty cold, sometimes -30 decrees celsius. Summer here comes late, its quite chilly in may and early june. In the summer there is of course endless day and midnight sun, sun just goes round in the sky and never goes down, it starts early june and last over a month. :)

We have four bedroom house in countryside by river and fields. Sweden border 6km, skicenter, hikingcenter Ylläs 40 km (30 minutes drive) away, Levi skicenter 80 km away (1hour drive). In Ylläs and Levi there is very much to do in the winter and also in summer. Countless Hikingroutes and crosscountry skiroutes and Downhill skiing of course. Ylläs-Pallas nationalpark too. Visit to see. Nearest city is Rovaniemi, city of Santa, about 170 km, 2 hours drive. In wintertime santa usually visit in Ylläs too... ;-)
Car is necessary to have. We have a seven seated Toyota Avensis Verso and safety seats for the children. Food and other thigs you need you can buy from Kolari (5km) village or Pajala village (25km) in Sweden.

Snowslide and crosscountry ski track (spring) very near the house. You can do various of things here for example icefish, paddle with kayak, swim, bike to the village Kolari or to Sweden or just enjoy peace and quite. We have bikes of all sizes and cart for toddlers too for you to borrow and tramboline also.
We have wireless Wifi in the house, Netflix, Wii and PS4 with games to play, apple tv (if you have ipad, it's very useful) and quite large collection of toys, legos an stuff.
Fishermans likes to know that the river next to us is Tornion-Muonionjoki, the longest free running Salmonriver there is in the world. Salmons are big here, average weight about 8 kg, but big ones might be over 20 kg. Very easy to rent a boat and some gears to fish day and night. ;)
Nearest airport in Kittilä and in Rovaniemi, train comes all the way from Helsinki to Kolari overnight, we can help with logistic. For example leave our car to Airport.

We like animals and have two dogs and a cat. Dogs will be treated elsewhere but we like you to take care of our cat Väinö for us. If you dont want to, it is not a problem, cat can stay elsewhere too. And if you want to bring your own pet, that can be arranged too. :)

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 4 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made


  • Journalist
  • Geotecnician, oresearching

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6


In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 6


  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy
  • Use of boat
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Spain
  • Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Italy
  • Switzerland
  • Slovenia
  • Austria
  • Portugal
  • Iceland
  • Greece
  • Sicily, Italy
  • Germany
  • Norway
  • Slovakia
  • England, UK
  • Estonia
  • Russia
  • New York, NY, USA

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Suomeksi
  • Svenska

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Kittilä - 80 km

  • forest Forest is all around us (0.2 km)
  • boating Riverboat, canoe or kajak (0.5 km)
  • river Tornio-Muonioriver (0.0 km)

Quiet countryside in a big island.


  • Journalist
  • Geotecnician, oresearching


  • Boy - Age: 7
  • Boy - Age: 17
  • Boy - Age: 15
  • Boy - Age: 9


  • Dog, briard
  • Cat, mixed breed
  • Cat, mixed breed

About Our Family

In our family there is father Mikko 43, who is working in oresearching and in mines and mother Jonna 36 is journalist in a local paper. We have four boys: oldest is Luukas 13, a little engineer who likes legos an constucting and planning things. Nooa 11, is a sportsman. He likes karate and running. Salomon 5, is a joker and a big boy who can easily turn into spiderman or catninja. Our youngest boy is little Iisak. He is three but have very rare condition, not dangerous but makes him small of his age. We usually travel with hole family at least now as kids are so young.

We have also two dogs and a cat. Older dog is Wanda 14, parson russell and younger Kii 6, a briard. Dogs do not travel with us and go to Jonnas parents during your stay.
Our friendly cat Väinö 10, will not travel but will stay to the house if you can give him food and water and let him in or out if he wants to. Väinö survive perfectly few days on his own too, if you do longer trips. If you dont want to take care of the cat, its not a problem. Cat can also stay elsewhere.


We like to have new experiences and learn our boys to speak better english. For us is important to learn our children to be open to the world, new places and experiences. Our home is quite new, but we are not that pedantic about our stuff. We are neat and will take good care about your home. :)


This member has completed 2 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: