Köln, Germany

the new house and the garden behind the house

the new house and the garden behind the house

the new house and the garden behind the house

Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Family home in Cologne, Germany

Cologne is one of Germany's largest and most vibrant cities, home to the country's most famous cathedral and its biggest university. It boasts a lively cultural scene and night life. Being close to Belgium and the Netherlands as well as other German cities like Dusseldorf and Bonn, it is also a good starting point to explore the area.
Since we moved just a couple of month ago, there are just a few Pictures of the new house, but there will be more. It has an area of 180 square meters, 7 rooms (2 Kids rooms, one nursery, 1 bedroom with a queen size bed and a sunny balcony, guest room, living and dining room and an office), 2 bathrooms and 3 toilets as well as a large terrace and a lovely garden, which is really inviting to spend time outside (especially in summer and spring). The garden is good for children since it has a fence and a lot of space to play.

The street is very quiet, on the other side of the road the forrest starts, which is very nice for walks, hikes, or bicycle tours. To cologne city center you can take the tube, which is ten minutes walk to the station and then 20 minutes ride.

About us:
We - Clemens and Lea - have two daughters, Toscha (7 years old) and Orna (3 months old), and a son, Amos (5 years old). We are both working on postdoc projects at university - Lea is a film and media studies scholar at the Film University Babelsberg, Clemens is a research associate and lecturer in Chinese studies at the University of Cologne. We love travelling both for professional reasons as well as for leisure. We have a lot of books and DVDs as well as a beamer for home cinema, bikes, and of course lots of kids' stuff...


Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 3 Exchanges made


  • Research Associate (Postdoc)
  • Research Associate (Postdoc)

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8
  • Living Area: 180 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange
  • Youth exchange
  • Renting possible


  • Free internet access
  • Hot tub or jacuzzi
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano


  • Garden
  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • Bicycles: 2


  • No smoking

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Portugal
  • Asia
  • California, USA
  • France
  • Spain
  • Italy
  • Norway
  • Sweden
  • Canada
  • Croatia

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Köln Bonn Airport - 16 km


  • Research Associate (Postdoc)
  • Research Associate (Postdoc)


  • Girl - Age: 10
  • Boy - Age: 7


  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home


This member has completed 3 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: